Getting arrested for DWI can be one of the biggest nightmare’s anyone ever has to face. Choosing one of Minnesota’s DWI lawyers is an important step, however, it is an extremely overwhelming task. Choosing a Minnesota DWI lawyer that knows the laws in and out and also one that has good relationships within the court system. This will assure that you are treated fairly as well as possibly catch any problem during your arrest that may lead to an acquittal or dismissal of your charges.
What constitutes a DWI in the state of Minnesota?
The legal blood alcohol content (BAC) limit in Minnesota is .008%, although there are some circumstances where less than .008% is considered illegal. If you are driving a commercial vehicle and get pulled over for DWI the legal limit is .004%. Also if you are under the age of 21 you can be charged for DWI even if you have less than .008% BAC.
What happens when you are charged with a DWI in Minnesota?
If it’s your first offense and your BAC was recorded below .16% then you will be charged with a misdemeanor and possibly face fines up to $1,000 and up to 90 days in jail. Penalties always vary depending on your BAC level and certain other factors while dealing with the prosecutor and judge. This is another reason why hiring the best of the best in Minnesota DWI lawyers should be your top priority. If it’s your first offense and you blew over a .16% BAC then you will face stiffer penalties like up to a $3,000 fine and up to 1 year in jail and you’ll also be charged with a gross misdemeanor. If you refuse to take the Breathalyzer test then you will face basically the same jail time and fines as if you blew above .16% as well as a gross misdemeanor. This should bring to light how important a good lawyer is to you when facing the court.
If you are underage and found guilty of DWI it will stay on your record for 15 years, along with the possibility of facing harsher penalties.
If you are found guilty of your second offense you will be acquired to have an ignition interlock installed in your car. This device is like having a built-in Breathalyzer in your car and will monitor your BAC randomly while driving. Another reason why choosing the best in Minnesota DWI lawyers is in the instance you are found guilty of your first offense and were above a .16% BAC. In this case you may also have to use the ignition interlock device. So make sure you choose a lawyer that will give you the best chance to avoid this circumstance.
You’ll also face administrative penalties depending on the circumstance of your case. You will most likely have your license suspended for 90 days or with a possible early restriction period. This is another reason why choosing one of the best Minnesota DWI lawyers is imperative for you.